Zucchini Is an Awkward Word to Spell

Do not proceed if you are of the faint of heart. I will warn you right now… the batter for this recipe looks like barf or swamp muck. And yes, I am showing you pictures.

Okay, now that you’ve been warned let’s get to the zucchini bars! These bars were adapted from a recipe for zucchini carrots bars. I had some zucchini to get rid of, but the only carrots I had were baby carrots. Shredding a cup and a half worth of baby carrots sounded awful so I skipped that step.  I was a little concerned by the amount of moisture that was pooling in my bowl of shredded zucchini, but I was already more than halfway done getting the zucchini ready and was not about to throw in the towel…except I did throw some paper towel in the bowl to soak up the water. This seemed to work, although, my concern grew as a made the batter and it looked swampy. Pouring it into the pan, didn’t make it look any more appetizing. I said a little prayer to the baking gods and put that bad boy in the oven. When all was said and done they smelled fantastic and tasted even better. I followed the recommendation from the blog I found the recipe on and threw in some chocolate chips, definitely made these a little more special! Plus they are basically like zucchini bread in a bar form, which I think means you can pass it off as dessert or a breakfast treat.

Here is the recipe (adapted from The Domestic Wannabe):

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • chocolate chips (I didn’t measure, I used a couple of handfuls)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, brown sugar, oil, honey and vanilla.  Don’t worry about clumps of the brown sugar, those will dissolve as it sits while you prepare the remaining ingredients.  Then fold in the zucchini, and walnuts.
  2. In another bowl combine the flour, baking powder, ginger and baking soda.  Whisk to blend together.
  3. Add flour mixture to the wet mixture.  Stir until just combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips. Spread batter into an un-greased 13x9x2-inch baking pan.
  4. Bake about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool completely in pan on a wire rack.  Cut into bars.

I’d leave you with an innuendo regarding putting the zucchini in the oven… but that would be too obvious. So happy baking!

 

4 thoughts on “Zucchini Is an Awkward Word to Spell

  1. I cut them in half and then use my cheese grater thingy. But that’s only because “my” food processor is one Dave lifted from his mother’s house years ago. It’s probably from the early 80’s. And I only have 1 blade for it. I actually have a food processor on my Christmas list this year because I have been using that piece of junk more and more with the garden the last couple of summers.

Leave a Reply

