Country Style Coca Cola Cake

I’ve come to realize my secret obsession with all things country (okay maybe not all things country, just boys, music, and recipes….) is not so secret anymore. From the Studs & Spurs calendar I got for Christmas from one friend and the half-naked cowboy on a birthday card I received from another, it looks like the cat is outta the bag. Or maybe “the horse is outta the barn” would be the more appropriate metaphor. (Too cheesy?) Any way you want to say it, my latest life fantasy involves owning a farmhouse with a giant porch and having the ability to bake the perfect biscuits.

Unfortunately total country living isn’t in the stars for me at the moment. However last night I decided to crank up the country music, dance around my kitchen a little (or a lot…) and bake a Coca Cola cake. Now even if this recipe didn’t have southern origins, it has enough butter in it to make Paula Dean proud. I should be more in the “eating/cooking healthy” spirit of the New Year, but there was a bottle of Coke sitting in my fridge I was wanting to get rid of and dumping it down the sink sounded way less fun than baking a cake.

Coca Cola Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup coca-cola
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350, and grease up (I like Crisco) a 9×13 (or so) pan.

Mix flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.

In a saucepan over medium high heat stir together butter, cocoa, Coca Cola, and buttermilk until it boils.

Now take off heat and add this mixture to the flour, mix & whisk until combined.

Then add eggs and vanilla, mix, put in pan, bake it for about 30 minutes.

Glaze Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup coca cola
1 cup chopped pecans

Combine in a saucepan and heat until it boils. Remove and slowly stir in 4 cups of confectioners’ sugar until nice and smooth. Then add in about a cup of chopped pecans, and give it a stir.

Once cake is done and out of oven (toothpick should come out clean), pour this warm glaze right over the top of the hot cake!

Let set and cool at least for a few minutes before enjoying. Can be served hot or cold.

IMG_4648I made the glaze while my cake was baking and the timing worked out perfectly. Not going to lie this cake is worth the every ounce of butter that is going to no doubt make permanent (hopefully semi-permanent if this new yoga/gym routine pans out) on my hips and thighs. Seriously though, WORTH EVERY OUNCE.

Now I’ve just got to find the perfect biscuit recipe and I’ve got this Southern cooking thing in the bag.

(Original Source: http://mayflaum.com/2011/06/08/the-chocolate-cola-cake/)

Leave a Reply

