Lazy Saturday Calls for Pumpkin Bread

My lazy Saturday called for some pumpkin bread. Actually my being so lazy called for me to do something sort of productive and baking satisfied that need. This recipe is pretty straight-forward… if you can measure, dump, and stir you can pretty much make this pumpkin bread. pumpkin bread start

It does seem like it has a lot of ingredients, calls for two kinds of flour, two kinds of sugar, several spices, plus eggs, greek yogurt and oil. I happened to have everything on hand, with exception of the greek yogurt, which I bought specifically to make this bread. I’m gonna be honest, unless it is baked in something I think greek yogurt is pretty disgusting. I almost gagged when I opened the container and splashed some of the yogurt juice onto myself. However, once it is in the bread I can appreciate its value. pumpkin bread batter

I found this recipe on Pinterest (see some people do use the stuff they find during endless hours of pinning) and of all places it can be found on some website called Baby Center. Kinda weird it was on some baby-related website, but trust me you don’t need to have a baby or be thinking about babies to enjoy this one.

Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoons nutmeg
1/4 teaspoons ground cloves
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon table salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cup white sugar
6 ounce container plain greek yogurt
3 eggs, slightly beaten
15 ounce can pumpkin puree
1/2 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, salt, baking soda and baking powder in a medium-sized bowl.

In a separate mixing bowl combine both brown and white sugar.  Add yogurt, eggs, pumpkin, oil, and vanilla extract and whisk until smooth.

Slowly add dry ingredients to wet and stir until combined. Next, stir in the chocolate chips.  Then divide the batter between into two 9×5 loaf pans (sprayed with non-stick spray) and sprinkle a few extra chocolate chips on top.  Bake around 50  minutes or until lightly browned.before the oven

I used my mini-loaf pan, because every time I make a regular loaf of this type of bread it seems like it takes forever to bake and still ends up a little gooey in the middle. The little breads ended up taking just as long as the recipe calls to bake the regular loaves, but they seem to be baked perfectly all the way through.

I also decided to line my pans with parchment because that pan is kind of a pain in the ass to clean and I thought that might eliminate some of the scrub time. It seemed to work, and did make it easier to pull the bread out of the pan to cool.

Also the recipe calls for chocolate chips as optional, but let’s be serious, when baking something like this chocolate chips are never optional. pumpkin breadsSo there you have it folks. I do recommend slicing off a piece while it’s still warm from the oven, and it’ll be hard to resist doing so since your kitchen will smell so fantastic.

Hopefully I’ll have something else to share soon enough that was made from scratch and sarcasm! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Lazy Saturday Calls for Pumpkin Bread

  1. I agree with you on the Greek yogurt. I’m not even sure how you can get used to it (in the plain form). It’s a whole different food, if you ask me. I like the mini pan idea too. We never finish a whole loaf of anything that I make in the standard size. But with the minis I can freeze some. I went to make butterscotch pumpkin muffins yesterday, using some of my pumpkin puree from my freezer, and I have NO flour. Who runs out of flour?! Now, I REALLY want flour! (And FYI, Baby Center is “THE” baby site!)

  2. Greek yogurt makes my tummy smile….as does this yummy recipe. I can’t wait to try it, but I think I will wait till fall. Right now, I am looking for Spring recipes. How about something with berries? Berries and greek yogurt….yummmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

